Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.


String quartet no.7 : Recognition

by Stuart Greenbaum (2016)

Selected products featuring this work — Display all products (1 more)

Display all products featuring this work (1 more)  

Work Overview

Written for Flinders Quartet, this work was commissioned by Julian Burnside to celebrate the birthday of Barry Jones. This 7th string quartet is subtitled Recognition in reference to Barry's recent book, The Shock of Recognition, but also as 'recognition' for Barry's championing and support of the arts in general.

The 4 movements of this quartet reference 4 well-known works from the Western canon (presented chronologically, spanning 120 years). In his book, Barry describes these works as 'tragic', 'passionate', 'evocative' and 'sublime' respectively.

The title of each movement provides a clue as to the identity of the work (the composer and year in which it was written). String Quartet No.7 presents hidden variations on prominent themes from these works, but toward the end of each movement the original is revealed more overtly, allowing 'recognition'. The intended effect is to reveal what has been heard all along without consciously knowing it (though the movements may also be appreciated on their own terms without knowledge of the originals).

Work Details

Year: 2016

Instrumentation: 2 violins, viola, cello.

Duration: 22 min.

Difficulty: Advanced

Contents note: I. Schubert, 1828 -- II. Brahms, 1864 --  -- III. Debussy, 1905 -- IV. Strauss, 1948.

Written for: Flinders Quartet

Commission note: Commissioned by Julian Burnside.. Commissioned in honour of Barry Jones

First performance: by Kathryn Taylor, Zoe Freisberg, Helen Ireland, Zoe Knighton — 18 Oct 16. 45 Downstairs, Melbourne

Performances of this work

18 Oct 16: 45 Downstairs, Melbourne. Featuring Kathryn Taylor, Zoe Freisberg, Helen Ireland, Zoe Knighton.

User reviews

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions and insights about this work.

To post a comment please login.