Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.


Memory of a Mensch : violin with piano

by David Holyoake (2017)

Memory of a Mensch


Add to cart

Score & Part

Memory of a Mensch : pour violon et piano / David Holyoake.

Library shelf no. 787.2/HOL 26 [Available for loan]

Work Overview

This work was created during a 6-month residency the composer spent at the historical house and concert venue established by the recently deceased Marcel Hastir. In commemoration of his rich life, as both artist, cultural curator, and as a notable humanitarian who helped save many Jews during the Nazi occupation of Belgium in WWII. The 3-movement work brings to life the story of his life.

Work Details

Year: 2017

Instrumentation: Violin, piano.

Duration: 14 min.

Difficulty: Advanced

Contents note: I. A Doina for the Jews -- II. Theosophists and Dreams -- III. Train escape.

Dedication note: Dedicated to Marcel Hastir. Dedicated to the memory of the artist and humanitarian Marcel Hastir

Written for: Daniel Rubenstein

Commission note: Commissioned by Atelier Marcel Hastir with funds provided by Belgian Ministry of Culture, Federation Wallonie-Bruxelles.

First performance: by Daniel Rubenstein, David Holyoake — 13 May 17. Atelier Marcel Hastir, Bruxelles, Belgium

Performances of this work

13 May 17: Atelier Marcel Hastir, Bruxelles, Belgium . Featuring Daniel Rubenstein, David Holyoake.

User reviews

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions and insights about this work.

To post a comment please login.