Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.


Ludus ex nominum (quintets: flute, oboe, trombone, piano, percussion)

by Bozidar Kos (1989)

Selected products featuring this work — Display all products (1 more)

Ludus ex nominum


Add to cart


Ludus ex nominum / Bozidar Kos.

Library shelf no. Q 785.3315/KOS 1 [Available for loan]

Display all products featuring this work (1 more)  

Work Overview

Ludus ex nominum (The Game of Names) 1989/revised 1994 is based on the names of the five members of the now defunct Pipeline Ensemble, who commissioned the work.

The main rhythmic structures of the work are derived directly from the names Simone, Daryl, Mardi, Geoff, and Michael in two ways. Firstly, the individual names are expressed in the international Morse code with semiquaver representing the short and a quaver the long duration. Individual letters of each name are thus transformed into distinct rhythmic cells. Secondly, some of the durational proportions, used in the work, are derived from the specific ordering of the letters of the alphabet. The actual rhythms (based on rhythmic cells) and the durational proportions are then subjected to various transformations during the process of composition.

The piece consists of 14 sections, characterised by their specific textures, yet, many of the sections are closely related to each other. The long sustained durations of sections one, four, and fourteen are also articulating melodic segments derived from the names of Simone and Daryl, the two foundation members of Pipeline.

Work Details

Year: 1989

Instrumentation: Flute, oboe, trombone, percussion, piano.

Duration: 15 min.

Commission note: Commissioned by Pipeline with funds provided by Australia Council. Performing Arts Board.

User reviews

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions and insights about this work.

To post a comment please login.