Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.


Little serenade : for string orchestra

by Daniel Rojas (2007)

Little serenade


This item may be available to purchase from the Australian Music Centre.
Please contact our Sales Department to confirm pricing and availability.

Little serenade


This item is available for sale but is currently unable to be purchased online.
Please contact our Sales Department to place an order.


Little serenade : for string orchestra / Daniel Rojas.

Library shelf no. 784.7/ROJ 1 [Available for loan]

Work Overview

Little Serenade is my homage to our memories of childhood: those ceaseless moments of restlessness, mischief, tears, playtime and parties that once weaved the novel and naïve texture of life. This work consists of five short movements that retrospectively (perhaps even nostalgically) portray such moods and experiences. Despite their length, most movements are highly energetic expositions of melodic motifs that are developed within a rhythmically infused sonic milieu. As with much of my music, there are several instances of syncopated interlocking rhythms drawn from the syntax associated with Afro-Cuban dance music. The contrasting middle movement, "Nostaglia", is a bittersweet tribute to an innocence that dissolved long ago; vague traces of those childhood joys and tears, however, are etched into the delicate fabric of adult life. As a tribute to years gone by, much of the musical ideas used in the third and fourth movements were conceived in my teenage years. I see this work as a commemoration of the vast tessitura of our experiences-memories that today we can opt to celebrate!

In its original form, Little Serenade was composed in 2007 and premiered by The Bourbaki Ensemble conducted by David Angell. I have substantially revised this work for The Metropolitan Orchestra, who premiered the revision.

Work Details

Year: 2007

Instrumentation: String orchestra.

Duration: 10 min.

Difficulty: Medium — some ensemble rhythmic challenges to be negotiated

Contents note: i. Restless -- ii. Mischief -- iii. Nostalgia -- iv. Games -- v. Fiesta.

Commission note: Commissioned by The Metropolitan Orchestra.

The composer notes the following styles, genres, influences, etc associated with this work:
Latin American Music, Ginastera, Salsa, Bartok, Stravinsky

Revised 2015


Performances of this work

20 Feb 2016: at TMO Start 2016 With Sumptuous String Serenades (Eugene Goossens Hall). Featuring The Metropolitan Orchestra, Sarah-Grace Williams.

User reviews

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions and insights about this work.

To post a comment please login.