Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.


Over Wind and Waves : for saxophone quartet

by Jeremy Rose (2022)

Selected products featuring this work — Display all products (1 more)

Display all products featuring this work (1 more)  

Work Overview

Jeremy Rose's Saxophone Quartet: Over Wind and Waves, in 5 movements, explores the physical dimensions of waves and wave interaction in musical forms, and provides an evocative musical portrait of the spirit of surfing. Influences include surf rock, jazz, Ravel and Rose's own developing aesthetic of minimalism. Rose explores many facets of wave behaviour, including reflection, refraction, diffusion, and superposition. Some movements have a great sense of movement and energy, building in momentum towards a climactic finale, whilst others create a more peaceful and meditative state.

The work draws inspiration from a poem, Surfer Girl, by Lea Knowles, in which he describes the experience of a young girl's excitement and love affair with surfing; her sense of obsession, the purity of motion, the ecstasy of experience and how her instinctive agility is put to the test. There is also a sense of yearning of peace and tranquillity.

"Waves are the practice of water. To speak of waves apart from water, or water apart from waves is a delusion." Suzuki Roshi

The work is also inspired by the above phrase by renowned Zen monk, Shunryu Suzuki (1904-1971) in a reference to the unachievable challenge of calming one's mind in the process of meditation. Suzuki and Knowles here both present a notion of unattainable control - whether it be our mind or the environment. This theme of yearning and a state of being in a constant challenge is nurtured through the work, presenting an unresolved climax. However, it is the inability to control our environment that has the most resonance with our times, given the increasing occurrence of natural weather disasters. The work acts as a growing call to respect mother nature and be in flow with our environment.

Work Details

Year: 2022

Instrumentation: Saxophone quartet.

Duration: 25 min.

Difficulty: Medium — Medium to advanced. Some movements are medium, others are more challenging

Contents note: I. Voices of the Tide -- II. Purity of Motion -- III. Curl -- IV. Crest V. A Point Beyond the Wild Pacific Breakers.

Commission note: Commissioned by The Scots College

The composer notes the following submitted styles, genres, influences, etc in relation to this work:
Ravel, Stravinsky, Stanhope, John Adams


  • In the form/style of: Jazz

Performances of this work

Unknown date: Sydney Conservatorium of Music, NSW. Featuring Nexas Quartet.

User reviews

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions and insights about this work.

To post a comment please login.