Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.


Memorial : Victimae paschali laudes, opus 73, for soprano and ensemble/small orchestra

by Jacqui Rutten (2015)

Work Overview

Memorial is fundamentally a work of peace not war, and remembers the 1916 Easter Rising, through a setting of the Easter chant Victimae Paschali Laudes in a pastoral setting, birdsong is featured. Memorial is for soprano and orchestra or ensemble. I composed the piece with pencil and paper, often outdoors, partly in Australia, in the Dandenong Ranges, where I live and where the traditional owners are the Wurundjeri, and partly in County Monaghan, Ireland. I received a composing residency at the Tyrone Guthrie Centre, Ireland and a Phonographic Performance Company of Australia grant towards this residency. The piece will be premiered by St. Malachi's Catholic College in Northern Ireland and the Dandenong Ranges Orchestra in Australia.

Work Details

Year: 2015

Instrumentation: Soprano, ensemble or orchestra (flute, oboe, B flat clarinet, bassoon,  B flat trumpet, trombone, percussion (2 players), harp, 2 violins, viola, cello, double bass).

Duration: 10 min.

Difficulty: Advanced

Commission note: Composed as part of a residency at the Tyrone Guthrie Centre, County Monaghan, Ireland


User reviews

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions and insights about this work.

To post a comment please login.