Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.


Wonders of Babylon : for trombone and wind orchestra

by Katia Tiutiunnik (2001)

Wonders of Babylon


Add to cart


Wonders of Babylon : for trombone and wind orchestra / Katia Tiutiunnik.

Library shelf no. Q 784.82893/TIU 1 [Available for loan]

Work Overview

The second golden age of Babylonian history was born after the destruction of the Assyrian empire by the Medians, in collaboration with the Babylonians, in 614 BC. During this period Babylon was ruled by King Nabopolassar (625-605 BC), father of King Nebuchadrezzar II (604-562 BC). It was during the reigns of these two kings, especially of Nebuchadrezzar II, that Babylon reached the summit of her glory. The remains of Babylon visible to the tourist today are largely the work of these two kings. Moreover, most of the monuments preserved are those of Nebuchadrezzar II, during whose reign Babylon achieved the architectural pre-eminence for which it is renowned. It was this vision of Nebuchadrezzar's Babylon which led Katia Tiutiunnik - an expatriate senior lecturer at the Faculty of Music, Universiti Teknologi MARA - to compose her large scale symphonic poem Wonders of Babylon for trombone and wind orchestra.

Work Details

Year: 2001

Instrumentation: 2 flutes, oboe, clarinet in E flat, clarinet in B flat, bass clarinet in C, soprano saxophone, alto saxophone, 2 bassoons, 4 horns, 2 trumpets in B flat, 2 trombones, bass trombone, tuba, timpani, percussion (1 player), trombone soloist.

Duration: 35 min.

Difficulty: Advanced

Contents note: I. La Via Processionale -- II. The Hanging Gardens -- III. The Death of Dhulqarnain -- IV. Il Sogno del Re Nabuccoduriussor -- V. Meravigle.

Dedication note: Dedicated to James Bicigo

The composer notes the following influences on this work:
Near Eastern music

User reviews

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions and insights about this work.

To post a comment please login.