Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.


Love, madness and death : for soprano and ensemble

by Christopher Tonkin (2014)

Love, madness and death


Add to cart


Love, madness and death : for soprano and ensemble / Christopher Tonkin.

Library shelf no. 783.6654/TON 1 [Available for loan]

Work Overview

Text mostly drawn from three female Shakespearean characters: Lady Macbeth, Ophelia and Cleopatra (as well as some incidental other incidental muttered text from members of the ensemble drawn from other characters in relevant scenes. Though the form is continuous, the piece deals with each of these characters in turn, and the music is in some way illustrative of each particular character.

Work Details

Year: 2014

Instrumentation: Soprano voice, alto flute, clarinet (doubling bass clarinet), percussion, piano, violin, cello, double bass.

Duration: 10 min.

Difficulty: Advanced — Much independence between instrumental parts; some extended techniques

Commission note: Commissioned by Tura New Music, Etica Ensemble.

First performance: by Etica Ensemble at Silver Swans (Fremantle Arts Centre) on 10 Apr 2014

Performances of this work

10 Apr 2014: at Silver Swans (Fremantle Arts Centre). Featuring Etica Ensemble.

User reviews

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions and insights about this work.

To post a comment please login.