Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.


Gliding : for flute, clarinet, vibraphone and cello

by Eric Avery (2020)

To Listen, To Sing - Ngarra-Burria


This item may be available to purchase from the Australian Music Centre.
Please contact our Sales Department to confirm pricing and availability.

Work Overview

With direct influences from minimal composers such as Steve Reich, Eric Avery's quartet epitomises the act of gliding through music. All the sonic material is supported by the cello (with Avery's experience as a string player himself) which plays Bach Cello Suite style figures, actively and repetitively crossing the strings while the other 3 musicians are also constantly moving with their semiquaver patterns. Reminiscent of birds soaring in the sky, never stopping, constantly moving, twisting and turning in the air, Gliding is music with total weightlessness.

Work Details

Year: 2020

Instrumentation: Flute, clarinet, vibraphone, cello.

Commission note: Commissioned by Ngarra-Burria.

Performances of this work

5 Dec 2021: at Ensemble Offspring presents Composing Songlines (Sydney Opera House, Utzon Room). Featuring Ensemble Offspring.

User reviews

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions and insights about this work.

To post a comment please login.