Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.


Caprice : brass band

by Andrew Batterham (2015, this version: 2016)

Selected products featuring this work — Display all products (2 more)



Add to cart


Caprice : for solo euphonium and brass band / Andrew Batterham.

Library shelf no. 784.9/BAT 4 [Available for loan]

Display all products featuring this work (2 more)  

Work Overview

Caprice was written for Matthew van Emmerik, to showcase his virtuosity in an engaging piece of concert music. It is in theme and variation form, with the primary material being the theme from the last of Paganini's Ventiquattro Capricci per violino solo, a collection of 24 caprices for solo violin. This theme has been the inspiration for similar works by many composers since it was first published, including Liszt, Brahms, Rachmaninov, Benny Goodman and Andrew Lloyd Webber.

In this work, the famous theme is treated to a more contemporary approach. The first variation, Capricious, relies on motor rhythms and jagged dialogues between the soloist and the band. It is couched in an organic scale reminiscent of the Phrygian mode. The second variation, Sad, is in direct contrast, acting as a traditional ballad and allowing the soloist to explore the expressive side of the instrument.

The third variation, Energetic, is a micro set of variations in itself, designed to display the soloist's innovative technique and stamina. Each section is more challenging than the last, until the work concludes with a whirlwind dance at breakneck speed. Like all of Batterham's recent work, the musical language of Caprice draws upon classical, jazz, funk and ska elements to create a unique sound where anything can happen, and probably will.

Work Details

Year: 2015, this version: 2016

Instrumentation: Solo euphonium, brass band (soprano cornet, solo cornet, repieno cornet, 2nd cornet, 3rd cornet, flugelhorn, solo tenor horn, 1st tenor horn, 2nd tenor horn, 1st baritone, 2nd baritone, solo trombone, 2nd trombone, bass trombone, euphonium, Eb basses, Bb basses, percussion (3 players)).

Duration: 10 min.

Difficulty: Advanced

Dedication note: for Matt van Emmerik

First performance: by Matthew van Emmerik, Victoria Brass, Mark Ford — 26 Jan 16. Iwaki Auditorium, Melbourne

This arrangement for brass band was made possible through Matt Van E'mmerik's instigation and generosity.


Performances of this work

1 Aug 19: 40th Lieksa Brass Week in Likesa, Finland. Featuring Fletcher Mitchell, Mark Hilpo.

4 Jun 16: ITEC conference - University of Tenessee, Knoxville - Cox Auditorium. Featuring James Gourlay, Matthew van Emmerik, River City Brass Band.

26 Jan 16: Iwaki Auditorium, Melbourne. Featuring Victoria Brass, Matthew van Emmerik, Mark Ford.

2015: Hong Kong. Featuring Matthew van Emmerik.

User reviews

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions and insights about this work.

To post a comment please login.