Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.


For peace, Psalm 96, 11-12 : mezzo-soprano voice with chamber ensemble : youth orchestra

by Betty Beath (2007)

For peace


Add to cart


For peace : Psalm 96, 11-12 / Betty Beath.

Library shelf no. 783.67525/BEA 1 [Available for loan]

For peace

Hire Only

This item is available from our hire library.
Please contact our Hire Department to enquire about pricing and obtain this item.

Work Overview

This work was invited by the Mexican conductor and composer Miguel Almaguer. It is part of a collaborative project linking short orchestral contributions from invited composers around the world. My brief was to contribute a one minute work inspired by the title Signifo de la pacho...The Significance of Peace and also a "reflection of what the concept of 'peace' means to the individual". Miguel Almaguer's concept is to link the individual contributions to perform and record the work in an effort to create dialogue between the composers and those who participate as musicians and audiences. No restrictions were placed on the participating composers apart from the request that the 'offering' be a "very direct impression, reflection, thought, chant, prayer, or other musical expression in musical language which may be contemporary or traditional".

Since sending my contribution to the project in late September, 2007, Miguel Almaguer has sent me an orchestral score 'in progress' which links contributions from composers in Lebanon, Mexico, United States and Australia...other contributions were under way from the Czech Republic, Uruguay, Portugal, Spain, Chile and Argentina.

I am interested to see the completed work and feel this is a timely idea...to recognise close links with peoples of the earth ...and that it may be a step towards creating a climate for peace to prosper. It appeals to me as an imaginative and practical way to focus attention on peace.

My contribution to this project was a setting of Psalm 96, Verses 11-12 scored for mezzo soprano voice and chamber orchestra. The text reads: Let the heavens by glad, Let earth rejoice, Let the sea thunder and all that it holds, Let the fields exult and all that is in them, Let all the woodland trees cry out for joy.

Work Details

Year: 2007

Instrumentation: Mezzo-soprano, piccolo, flute, oboe, clarinet in B flat, bassoon, timpani, percussion (2 players: cymbals, tam-tam), strings.

Duration: 1 min.

Difficulty: Advanced — Youth or professional orchestra.

Dedication note: For Miguel Angel Almaguer.

Commission note: Commissioned by Miguel Almaguer, of Monterey, Mexico.


User reviews

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions and insights about this work.

To post a comment please login.