Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.


String Trio : Trigon

by Lee Bradshaw (2003)

Selected products featuring this work — Display all products (2 more)

Ties That Bind


This item may be available to purchase from the Australian Music Centre.
Please contact our Sales Department to confirm pricing and availability.

Display all products featuring this work (2 more)  

Work Overview

In the first movement of his Trio Bradshaw utilises a melodic motif established initially on violin but with all instruments playing in their lower registers, so that this same sense of lament conveyed in Via Crusis is equally expressed in the Lento movement here. The composer messes with this theme using a range of harmonic and textural devices and moves it into different instruments where it has completely different conveyances. He also shifts the pitch range from lower to upper registers, at times with voices converging and at others, with a chasm between them. The tight, plaintive harmonies from 'cello and viola at the end of the movement, with a ghostly trail of melodic fragments on violin, is awesome.

There is a Stravinsky-esque urgency in the rhythmic and harmonic drive of the second movement, but it remains uniquely Bradshaw. It provides a strong counterpoint to the first. And then the final movement, which breaks all 'movement' conventions, is, as in the first, based on a riff, but here it is a sustained harmonic underlay on viola and 'cello with a haunting melody atop as is the case at the end of the first movement. We are reminded that Bradshaw works as a producer across a plethora of idioms, and the whole notion of a riff 'sticking' if you will, is used with great finesse in this and the previous movements. It really is a sublime Trio.

Reviewed by Mandy Stefanakis

Work Details

Year: 2003

Instrumentation: Violin, viola, cello.

Duration: 16 min.

Difficulty: Advanced

Contents note: I. Lento -- II. Tempo di Valse -- III. Sostenuto.

Commission note: Commissioned in 2003 by Ivan Vukčević for the Trigon String Trio (Switzerland)

User reviews

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions and insights about this work.

To post a comment please login.