Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.


Carmen Perpetuum : Six Metamorphoses after Ovid

by Anne Cawrse (2022)

Carmen Perpetuum


Add to cart


Carmen Perpetuum : for solo oboe / Anne Cawrse.

Library shelf no. 788.52/CAW 1 [Available for loan]

Work Overview

'Carmen Perpetuum' is a 21st century companion work to Benjamin Britten's seminal 1956 work Six Metamorphoses after Ovid. Each movement is approximately 4 minutes duration, and may be performed individually or as a set.

1. Arachne: whose prodigious talent incensed Minerva and made transparent the true nature of the gods, resulting in her shame and transformation.

2. Actaeon: who, steered by a pitiless fate, angered the goddess Diana and must attempt to outrun his own misfortune.

3. Semele: whose foolish and naive desire to see and be seen by her immortal lover brings about her own destruction.

4. Callisto: who is deceived and defiled by Jove, shamed by Diana, and further punished and made mute by Juno, before finally finding solace in the stars.

5. Pygmalion: who refuses to succumb to the allure of any woman, until he is able to procure one of his own making.

6. Daphne: whose strength and beauty provoke unwanted desire in Apollo, forcing her to flee.

Work Details

Year: 2022

Instrumentation: Oboe.

Duration: 24 min.

Difficulty: Advanced

Contents note: I. Arachne -- II. Actaeon -- III. Semele -- IV. Callisto -- V. Pygmalion -- VI. Daphne.

Dedication note: Dedicated to Celia Craig

Commission note: Commissioned by Celia Craig.

First performance: by Celia Craig — 19 Aug 23. St Peters Cathedral, Adelaide SA

The composer notes the following styles, genres, influences, etc in relation to this work:
Britten 'Six Metamorphoses after Ovid'

Performances of this work

19 Aug 23: St Peters Cathedral, Adelaide SA. Featuring Celia Craig.

User reviews

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions and insights about this work.

To post a comment please login.