Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.


String quartet : the Cambridge quartet

by Richard Charlton (1986)

Also known as: The Cambridge quartet

Work Overview

This quartet combines some "pop" elements of my early style and is suitable for student ensembles. The work is in three movements - Allegro, Andante con moto, Vivace. Although originally conceived as a quartet, the piece has been used by string orchestras at Ascham school and was performed in the school's 2005 music tour to Europe. The 1st movement was recently performed at the composer's 60 birthday concert (2015) by Ascham Camerata.

Work Details

Year: 1986

Instrumentation: 2 violins, viola, cello.

Duration: 14 min.

Difficulty: Medium — Senior High school ensemble

Contents note: Allegro -- Andante con moto -- Vivace.

Commission note: Commissioned by Michael Goldstein for performance by Cambridge Ensemble.

First performance: 1 Feb 87. Kirribilli Neighborhood Centre, Fitzroy St. Kirribilli, Sydney

Revised 2015


Performances of this work

1 Feb 87: Kirribilli Neighborhood Centre, Fitzroy St. Kirribilli, Sydney

User reviews

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions and insights about this work.

To post a comment please login.