Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.


Fracture : for piano solo

by Brendan Colbert (2015)



Add to cart


Fracture : for piano solo / by Brendan Colbert.

Library shelf no. 786.2/COL 7 [Available for loan]

Work Overview

The handful of piano solos I'd written since (and including) the major revision of Agité III in 2000 were all - to a greater or lesser extent - related, and in 2010 I'd decided that four of them were sufficiently linked to combine quite well as a set, so the original Fracture came into being.

Over following months I became increasingly dissatisfied with this arbitrary construct, and in 2012 my thoughts turned again to the piano with a conviction to create a genuinely unified work. I chose re-fract as the starting point and released the others to make their own way in the world. Later in 2012 Doublethink was completed, followed in 2015 by Shard : thus was Fracture in its present final form eventually (re)born.

All three works can be performed individually, or as part of the larger work.

Work Details

Year: 2015

Instrumentation: Piano.

Duration: 28 min.

Difficulty: Advanced

Contents note: I. re-fract (2009, 8 mins. 10 secs. approx.) – II. Doublethink (2012, 12 mins. 50 secs. approx. – III. Shard (2015, 6 mins. 40 secs. approx.)

User reviews

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions and insights about this work.

To post a comment please login.