Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.


Concerto for piano and orchestra : piano with orchestra

by Stephen Cronin (1989)

Selected products featuring this work — Display all products (2 more)

Elegy for our time


This item may be available to purchase from the Australian Music Centre.
Please contact our Sales Department to confirm pricing and availability.

Concerto for piano and orchestra


Add to cart


Concerto for piano and orchestra / Stephen Cronin.

Library shelf no. Q 784.262186/CRO 1 [Available for loan]

Display all products featuring this work (2 more)  

Work Overview

Concerto for Piano and Orchestra (1989) was dedicated to and premiered by the pianist, Kevin Power. The demanding piano part represents a shift from the piano's traditional role in a concerto, and rather than engaging in a typical dialogue with orchestra maintains an almost continuous thread of sound throughout. The relative dramatic importance of the orchestral part varies from simple accompaniment to outright assertion. Throughout, the piano seems to maintain itself as an independent voice.

Work Details

Year: 1989

Instrumentation: Solo piano, 2 flutes (2nd doubling piccolo), 2 oboes, 2 clarinets in B flat, 2 bassoons, 2 horns in F, 2 trumpets in B flat, percussion (2 players), strings ( minimum).

Duration: 19 min.

Difficulty: Advanced — Solo piano is virtuosic; orchestral parts are medium difficulty

Dedication note: "To K.P."


Program note: Stephen Cronin's "Concerto for piano and orchestra"
program notes and analysis by the composer


User reviews

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions and insights about this work.

To post a comment please login.