Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.


Archai : for string quintet

by Eve Duncan (2010)



Add to cart


Archai : for string quintet / Eve Duncan.

Library shelf no. 785.715/DUN 1 [Available for loan]

Work Overview

Archai explores the nature of the experience of time. As time passes, an experience can take on a new meaning as though it has a new colour, or a new scent that is changing our perception. Events that were difficult may gain peace through time. Other experiences later become odd and confusing. It is as though time is a transforming elixir. Sometimes it is as though some spirit is shaking up our memories by adding an ingredient that changes our perception of our life.

In some mythologies, the Archai were living spirits of time. This piece is a reflection upon these strange shifts that occur through the passage of time.

Work Details

Year: 2010

Instrumentation: 2 violins, viola, 2 cellos.

Duration: 11 min.

Difficulty: Advanced — The quintet found that it needed conducting. Rhythms are tricky. Tertiary & professional

Performances of this work

24 Nov 2012: at Melbourne Composers League (Trinity Uniting Church, Brighton). Featuring Veldman String Quintet.

User reviews

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions and insights about this work.

To post a comment please login.