Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.


The king in yellow : three pieces for six instruments

by Melody Eötvös (2012)

Score Sample

View a sample of the score of this work

Audio Sample

From the CD Selected works by AMC represented artists, vol. 32.

Selected products featuring this work — Display all products (1 more)

Selected works by AMC represented artists, vol. 32.


This item is not commercially available from the Australian Music Centre. We regret that we cannot offer it for sale.


Selected works by AMC represented artists, vol. 32.

Library shelf no. CD 2447 [Available for loan]

Display all products featuring this work (1 more)  

Work Overview

This work is based on three stories from the psychological horror (pre-Lovecraft/Kafka) book by Robert W. Chambers of the same title. The kernel of Chambers' book is a play that is only ever quoted (such as in The Mask) and doesn't' actually exist in a complete form outside of Chambers' stories. A particularly strong theme is the elusive Carcosa, the world in which the play is apparently set. The twist with the play that occurs, is that the first chapter can be read relatively easy and most readers will throw it away at that point, frustrated at how boring and predictable it is. However, something always draws them to return to the book. Once they pick it up again and begin reading Act II, they are driven to insanity by something.

Work Details

Year: 2012

Instrumentation: Flute/piccolo, bass/B flat clarinet, percussion (1 player), piano, violin, cello.

Duration: 10 min.

Difficulty: Advanced

Contents note: I The Yellow Sign -- II The Mask -- III Court of the Dragon.

Commission note: Composed for Soundstream: Adelaide New Music Festival

First performance: by Soundstream Collective at Young Composers Award: Finalists' Concert (ABC Studio 520) on 13 Oct 2012

Based on the Psychological Horror stories of Robert W. Chambers


The King in Yellow

Performed by Jessica Banks (flute), Keith Northover (clarinet), Ethan Geller (percussion), Clare Longendyke,& Grigor Khachatryan (piano), Bijan Sepanji (violin), Jae Y. Choi (cello), Melody Eötvös (conductor, composer). November 27th, Auer Hall JSoM, Bloomington IN.


Performances of this work

13 Oct 2012: at Young Composers Award: Finalists' Concert (ABC Studio 520). Featuring Soundstream Collective.

User reviews

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions and insights about this work.

To post a comment please login.