Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.


Shadows Hold their Breath : for flute, clarinet, violin, cello and percussion

by Nirmali Fenn (2022)

Work Overview

The title is from Emily Dickinson's poem There's a Slant of Light: "When it comes, the Landscape listens - Shadows - hold their breath"

In my experiments with the ensemble, fascinating, shadowy sounds frequently emerged. These shadowy sounds, especially in the percussion, define transient qualities in the music that define background textures and circulate, through the ensemble, emerging as foreground features. Another consideration that impacted on the ensemble writing was that a shadow, depending on the slant of light, may magnify or compress the shape of the original object, bringing it into prominence.

Work Details

Year: 2022

Instrumentation: Alto flute, bass clarinet doubling on clarinet, violin, cello, percussion (marimba, ocean drum, 2 suspended cymbals, 5 thunder tubes)

Duration: 11 min.

Difficulty: Advanced

Commission note: Commissioned by Noisy Women Commission, Ensemble Offspring.

First performance: by Ensemble Offspring at Another Future (Casula Powerhouse) on 4 Jun 2022

Performances of this work

4 Jun 2022: at Another Future (Casula Powerhouse). Featuring Ensemble Offspring.

User reviews

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions and insights about this work.

To post a comment please login.