Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.


String quartet no.5 : Light from Distant Stars : string quartet

by Stuart Greenbaum (2012)

String quartet no.5


This item may be available to purchase from the Australian Music Centre.
Please contact our Sales Department to confirm pricing and availability.


String quartet no.5 / Stuart Greenbaum.

Library shelf no. 785.714/GRE 5 [Available for loan]

Work Overview

Matthew Cole was a violin student of my wife and a friend of us both. He was knocked off his bike on a morning ride in January 2005 and died at the scene. He was 32. The first movement of this string quartet, Light from Distant Stars, was written at short notice to be played at the funeral service. A sketch for another movement was written around that time but left unfinished. The Processional and Amen are based on that sketch, and in completing the work I have sought to be true to the original intention.

Work Details

Year: 2012

Instrumentation: 2 violins, viola, cello.

Duration: 11 min.

Difficulty: Advanced

Contents note: 1. Light from Distant Stars -- 2. Processional -- 3. Amen

Dedication note: Written in memory of Matthew Grant Cole

First performance: by Yoong Han Ensemble — 2013. 31st Asian Composers League Festival, YST Orchestral Hall, Singapore


String quartet no.5 : string quartet

Performances of this work

26 Nov 2016: at Huntington Estate Music Festival: A. Grant & Greenbaum (Huntington Estate Winery). Featuring Orava Quartet.

2013: 31st Asian Composers League Festival, YST Orchestral Hall, Singapore. Featuring Yoong Han Ensemble.

User reviews

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions and insights about this work.

To post a comment please login.