Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.


17 Haiku : for piano

by Michael Hannan (2008)

Also known as: Seventeen Haiku

17 Haiku


Add to cart


17 Haiku : for piano / Michael Hannan.

Library shelf no. 786.2/HAN 21 [Not for loan]

Piano music. Volume IV


Add to cart


Piano music. Volume IV / Michael Hannan.

Library shelf no. 786.2/HAN 45 [Not for loan]

Work Overview

The Japanese haiku poetic form has inspired many Australian concert composers (notably Richard Meale, Peter Sculthorpe and Barry Conyngham). But as far as I know none of these composers has interpreted the strict limitations of syllable numbers of the haiku form in the realisation of their haiku-inspired works.

Each movement of my 17 Haiku has exactly 17 different notes (or more precisely 17 different attacks). Like most of my works for piano, 17 Haiku explores the complex resonances of the piano with the aid of the constantly-depressed sustaining pedal. Although there are only 289 notes/attacks in the work many of them are held for significant lengths of time. I invite the listener to meditate on the sounds of each successive movement as the work unfolds. Most of the ideas in this work are derived from moments in other works I have written for piano.

Work Details

Year: 2008

Instrumentation: Piano.

User reviews

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions and insights about this work.

To post a comment please login.