Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.


Module Fugue : for solo piano

by Michael Kieran Harvey (2018)

Module Fugue


Add to cart


Module Fugue : for solo piano / Michael Kieran Harvey.

Library shelf no. 786.2/HAR 27 [Available for loan]

Work Overview

This fugue began as a contemplation on three notes, E, F and B, which suggest an ambiguous harmonic world, and which have a proportional relationship with each other that can be balanced at the distance of a fourth or fifth, or wildly imbalanced depending on the root note. A series of independent melodic, rhythmic and harmonic modules are possible from the various numbers generated by these notes and intervals, which are further interpreted intuitively by exploring the chroma of the resulting combinations. The work is dedicated to the Australian composer and pedagogue Richard Vella.

Work Details

Year: 2018

Instrumentation: Piano.

Duration: 6 min.

Difficulty: Advanced — virtuoso technique required

Dedication note: Dedicated to Richard Vella

Commission note: Commissioned by Melbourne Composers' League.

First performance: by Michael Kieran Harvey at Melbourne Composers League Pathways (Church of All Nations) on 13 Apr 2018

Performances of this work

13 Apr 2018: at Melbourne Composers League Pathways (Church of All Nations). Featuring Michael Kieran Harvey.

User reviews

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions and insights about this work.

To post a comment please login.