Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.


Stella Degradation : for bass clarinet, cello, viola, piano and timpani

by Cat Hope (2012)

Work Overview

This piece is inspired by a sketch Iannis Xenakis made for his piece Terretektorh (1956-66). Whilst there are many sketches for this famous piece, one is a combination of clouds of gentle lines, as well as hard symmetrical ones, grouped out on graph paper. This piece features many of the elements that are part of my ongoing interest in glissandi, drone, noise and an exploration of the concepts around the low frequency range of music.

Work Details

Year: 2012

Instrumentation: Piano, bass clarinet, viola, cello, timpani.

Duration: 7 min.

Difficulty: Medium

Dedication note: Dedicated to Soundstream Collective

Commission note: Commissioned by Soundstream Collective.

First performance: by Tristen Parr, Lindsay Vickery, Joshua Webster, Johannes Luebbers, Hayley Ayers — 19 Oct 12. WA Academy of Performing Arts, Perth

Further information is at: http://www.cathope.com/stella-degradation-2012.html

A duo version is also available.

To perform this piece you will need the Decibel ScorePlayer, an iPad application that puts the score in motion and coordinates the performance.

Performances of this work

9 Aug 2017: at Either Or (Elder Hall). Featuring Soundstream Collective.

18 May 2013: at Soundstream Collective (Anne & Gordon Samstag Museum of Art).

19 Oct 12: WA Academy of Performing Arts, Perth. Featuring Joshua Webster, Tristen Parr, Hayley Ayers, Johannes Luebbers, Lindsay Vickery.

User reviews

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions and insights about this work.

To post a comment please login.