Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.


Mirages : full orchestra

by May Howlett (2006)



Add to cart


Mirages / May Howlett.

Library shelf no. Q 784.2/HOW 3 [Available for loan]

Work Overview

Although an abstract work, Mirages was born of a perception of the dichotomy between the transitory nature of all things and the illusion of 'progress'.
In the first and third movements, the interval of a 3rd is like the simple basic cry of he child, the innocent. In the first movement, it is as if this exists even before sound becomes aware of itself, then going on through a number of manifestations from various cultures until innocence is lost in a babel of voices.
In the second movement, the stars sing in the clear brilliance of the desert night sky. The third movement, returning to earth as it were, seeks to recapture its lost youth.
But the primitive urge gives way to the pounding beat of the Machine - as in the reproductive chant of the copying machine.
This is the composer's first attempt at a full orchestral work.

Work Details

Year: 2006

Instrumentation: Piccolo, 2 flutes (1st doubling shakuhachi), alto flute, 2 oboes, cor anglais, clarinet in B flat, clarinet in A, bass clarinet in B flat, 2 bassoons, contra-bassoon, didjeridu, 4 horns in F, 3 trumpets in C, tenor trombone, bass trombone, tuba, piccolo timpani, percussion (2 players), celesta, harp, strings.

Duration: 8 min.

Contents note: When it was green -- Desert with stars -- Carbon dating.

User reviews

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions and insights about this work.

To post a comment please login.