Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.


Elferiae : for string quartet

by Dobromila Jaskot (2013)

Selected products featuring this work — Display all products (1 more)

Display all products featuring this work (1 more)  

Work Overview

Elferiae is about the limits of silence and noise, experimenting with human perception of sound and its appearing in time. The title is a unique name creation referring to Elvish etherealness and subtlety perceived at the border of human sensation. The sound is like a delicate air movement, drifting and shimmering unexpectedly in a space. Sometimes rising, but impossible to be caught due to its permanent unpredictable movement, blurred and trembling, never stable enough to be looked at closely.

Work Details

Year: 2013

Instrumentation: 2 violins, viola, cello.Performance requirements: depending on room acoustics, amplification with small reverb may be required

Duration: 7 min.

Difficulty: Advanced

Commission note: Commissioned by Minister of Culture and National Heritage, Poland, 2013

First performance: by Silesian Quartet — 27 Apr 13. 5th Festival of Premieres, Katowice, Poland

The composer notes the following styles, genres, influences, etc associated with this work:
experimental, exploratory instrumental noise music


Performances of this work

27 Apr 13: 5th Festival of Premieres, Katowice, Poland. Featuring Silesian Quartet.

User reviews

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions and insights about this work.

To post a comment please login.