Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.


Sonata 12 : oscillation

by Don Kay (2021)

Sonata 12


Add to cart


Sonata 12 : oscillation / Don Kay.

Library shelf no. 786.2/KAY 28 [Available for loan]

Work Overview

Similarly to its two immediate predecessors, Piano Sonata 12 is in two movements but more extended than either of those at c. 15 minutes duration. It is also more elaborate in its formal structure. Its second movement is, unusually for me, almost twice the duration of the first movement, which is marked 'dramatico'. Its rather solemn opening soon transforms into a rather more animated feel which pretty much sustains for its six minutes duration. The second movement, 'burlesco e resolutio', begins with a sense of cheeky playfulness for 61 bars, when a new idea returns to a more serious mood. A sudden appearance of a mischievous little digression, marked comico, begins an oscillation between the burlesque and the more serious which finally culminates in a decisive G major triad to conclude the work.

Work Details

Year: 2021

Instrumentation: Piano.

Duration: 15 min.

Difficulty: Advanced

Contents note: I. dramatico -- II. burlesco e resolutio.

Dedication note: Dedicated to Arabella Teniswood-Harvey


User reviews

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions and insights about this work.

To post a comment please login.