Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.


Guitar concerto (guitar with full orchestra)

by Bozidar Kos (1992)

Koncert za violino in orkester ; Crosswinds ; Koncert za kitaro in orkester


This item may be available to purchase from the Australian Music Centre.
Please contact our Sales Department to confirm pricing and availability.

Guitar concerto


This item may be available to purchase from the Australian Music Centre.
Please contact our Sales Department to confirm pricing and availability.


Guitar concerto / Bozidar Kos.

Library shelf no. Q 784.2784186/KOS 1 [Available for loan]

Work Overview

The first movement of the GUITAR CONCERTO begins with quasi rubato section in which the guitar introduces short melodic fragments of almost conversational character. Soon a dialogue develops between the soloist and various orchestral groups, during which the musical material is gradually transformed into rhythmically more defined texture. Approximately half way through this movement a new rhythmic motive is introduced that keeps appearing in various transformations throughout the second half of the movement. After the fortissimo climax, in which the orchestra attempts to overpower the soloist and which is followed immediately by the soloist's angry and resolute response, the dialogue between the guitar and the orchestra continues. The movement finishes again with quasi rubato section and with the material that is reminiscent of the melodic shapes in the introductory section.

The second movement is in two parts. The first slow section is based on a distinct lyrical melody, introduced in the opening bars by a solo bassoon. Most of the material, that has been developed in this section, is related to this melody. The second section, in contrast, is fast and very rhythmical and leading to an orchestral climax. After the solo cadenza concerto soon reaches its decisive conclusion. Transition between these two sections of the second movement is based on bird-calls that I heard from my room in the Blue Mountains while composing the concerto. It was only later that I realised that these bird-calls are motivically related to the lyrical melody of the slow section and must have had therefore a subconscious influence on my compositional process.

The whole concerto is thus really in three parts: fast - slow - fast, with the last two parts being grouped together into one movement.

Work Details

Year: 1992

Instrumentation: Solo guitar, 2 flutes, 2 oboes (2nd doubling cor anglais), 2 clarinets, 2 bassoons, 2 horns, 2 trumpets, percussion (1 player), celesta, harp, strings.

Duration: 24 min.

Difficulty: Advanced

Contents note: In 2 movements.

Dedication note: Dedicated to Marinko Opalic

Commission note: Commissioned with funds provided by Australia Council. Performing Arts Board.. Commissioned by Marinko Opalic.


User reviews

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions and insights about this work.

To post a comment please login.