Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.


Escher Portraits : piano quartet

by James Ledger (2014)

Escher Portraits


Add to cart


Escher Portraits / James Ledger.

Library shelf no. 785.2814/LED 1 [Available for loan]

Work Overview

Escher Portraits is an ongoing multi-movement work. As of June 2017, there are three movements. Ultimately, I hope to have six, seven or even more movements where the amount and order of movements can be varied by the ensemble.

Work Details

Year: 2014

Instrumentation: Violin (doubling harmonica in F), viola (doubling harmonica in D), cello (doubling harmonica in C) piano (doubling harmonica in E).

Duration: 13 min.

Difficulty: Advanced

Contents note: Metamorphosen Fragment I -- House of Stairs -- Metamorphosen - Fragment II

Commission note: "House of Stairs" (a movement from the work) was commissioned by Patrick Murphy for the White Halo Ensemble with funding from the University of Queensland.

First performance: by Darlington Ensemble — 18 Aug 17. Callaway Auditorium, University of Western Australia


Performances of this work

18 Aug 17: Callaway Auditorium, University of Western Australia. Featuring Darlington Ensemble.

5 Apr 17: Customs House, Brisbane. Featuring White Halo Ensemble.

User reviews

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions and insights about this work.

To post a comment please login.