Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.


Symphonic requiem for the child victims of war : for orchestra and solo violin

by Wilfred Lehmann (1994)

Work Overview

Inspired by a talk given by The Baroness Cox which the composer heard on the BBC World Service. The theme of her talk was the helpless plight of children in the midst of war.

Work Details

Year: 1994

Instrumentation: Solo violin, 3 flutes (all doubling piccolos), 2 oboes, oboe d'amore, cor anglais, clarinet, 2 bass clarinets, 2 bassoons, double bassoon, 4 horns, 3 trumpets, 3 trombones, tuba, percussion (3 players), harp, mandolin, strings.

Duration: 23 min.

Difficulty: Advanced

Contents note: 1. Prologue -- 2. Children -- 3. War -- 4. Epilogue lament.

Dedication note: Dedicated to The Baroness Cox, humanitarian and tireless crusader for the child victims of war

Commission note: Written For the Don Banks Fellowship

First performance: by Queensland Symphony Orchestra, Wilfred Lehmann, Richard Mills — 1 Jul 94.


Performances of this work

28 Feb 2015: at ANAM: Lehmann, Nielsen (South Melbourne Town Hall). Featuring Shane Chen, ANAM Orchestra of the Academy, Stanley Dodds.

1 Jul 94: featuring Queensland Symphony Orchestra, Wilfred Lehmann, Richard Mills.

User reviews

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions and insights about this work.

To post a comment please login.