Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.


Mandala 1 : for wind quintet

by David Lumsdaine (1968)

Mandala 1


Add to cart


Mandala 1 : for wind quintet / David Lumsdaine.

Library shelf no. Q 785.4315/LUM 1 [Not for loan]

Work Overview

Throughout Mandala 1 there is an entire absence of foreground pulse (beat) and meter. Shapes float across one another, reflect one another, sometimes collide with, and refract one another; isolated tones hang suspended in the air; no sooner do two or three instruments come together, but they ripple off into their own time field. This lack of regularity takes the music to the bounds of playability in terms of ensemble and gives it what may be, at first, a disconcerting character for the listener.

Work Details

Year: 1968

Instrumentation: Flute, oboe, clarinet, horn, bassoon.

Duration: 15 min.

Difficulty: Advanced

Dedication note: To Jane Porter.

First performance: by City of London Sinfonia, David Atherton — Nov 71. Performed at a BBC Invitation Concert, Durham, UK.


Program note: David Lumsdaine's "Mandala 1"
program note by the composer

Article: David Lumsdaine / Richard Cooke.

Performances of this work

Nov 71: Performed at a BBC Invitation Concert, Durham, UK.. Featuring City of London Sinfonia, David Atherton.

User reviews

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions and insights about this work.

To post a comment please login.