Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.


Panah : for orchestra

by Clare Maclean (2007)



Add to cart


Panah : for orchestra / Clare Maclean

Library shelf no. Q 784.2/MAC 1 [Available for loan]

Work Overview

Panah takes as its starting point the sound of several Russian bells, and musically explores the different partials within these sounds; much of the music is made up of fragments which appear and recur. The music aims to express a sense of the numinous that bell sounds can create, a sense of an appearing of divine glory hidden in the world. Panah is a Hebrew word which means to turn, to show one's face, to appear.

Work Details

Year: 2007

Instrumentation: 2 flutes (2nd doubling piccolo), 2 oboes, 2 clarinets in B flat, 2 bassoons, 4 horns in F, 2 trumpets in B flat, 2 trombones, bass trombone, tuba, timpani, percussion (1 player), harp, strings (

Duration: 8 min.

Difficulty: Medium

First performance: by New Zealand Symphony Orchestra, Scott Parkman — 3 Sep 08. Michael Fowler Centre, Wellington, New Zealand

Performances of this work

3 Sep 08: Michael Fowler Centre, Wellington, New Zealand. Featuring New Zealand Symphony Orchestra, Scott Parkman.

User reviews

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions and insights about this work.

To post a comment please login.