Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.


Die nacht kommt : full orchestra

by Peter McNamara (2004)

Die nacht kommt


Add to cart


Die nacht kommt : for orchestra / Peter McNamara.

Library shelf no. Q 784.2/MCN 1 [Not for loan]

Work Overview

Die Nacht kommt was written for the 2004 Symphony Australia Composer Development Program between July and November 2004. This piece is part of a trio of works that use similar musical elements to emphasise various representations of Night. Die Nacht kommt conveys imagery of a Hazy and Foggy Night and achieves this through blurred voicing and "out-of-phase" melodic lines and quartertonal scales.

Artificial string harmonics and resonant metallic percussion opens the work accompanied at first by Violas and later Oboes and muted Trumpets. As this introduction progresses, quartertones become more prominent and emerge from several harmonic fields. The main body of the work introduces the first quartertonal scalic lines. Permeations then occur between the previous gestures and several harmonic fields based on 2 chords and their inversions, all of these including quartertones as part of their structure.

Gradually, these musical elements increase in texture and density towards the final section of the work. This concluding section involves faster tempi, re-working of the previous material and increased layering of these ideas resulting in an accumulation of energy and material before the work's final climax.

Work Details

Year: 2004

Instrumentation: 3 flutes (3rd doubling piccolo), 3 oboes, 3 clarinets in B flat, 3 bassoons, 4 horns in F, 2 trumpets in C, trombone, bass trombone, timpani, percussion (3 players), strings.

Duration: 10 min.

Difficulty: Advanced — Professional

First performance: by Orchestra Victoria, Richard Mills — 29 Jan 05. Iwaki Auditorium, Melbourne

Performances of this work

29 Jan 05: Iwaki Auditorium, Melbourne. Featuring Orchestra Victoria, Richard Mills.

User reviews

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions and insights about this work.

To post a comment please login.