Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.


Light Movements : for clarinet quartet

by Kirsten Milenko (2016)

Selected products featuring this work — Display all products (2 more)

Light Movements


Add to cart


Light Movements : for clarinet quartet / Kirsten Milenko.

Library shelf no. 785.8614/MIL 1 [Available for loan]

Light Movements


Add to cart


Light Movements : for recorder quartet / Kirsten Milenko.

Version: This product features the Quartets: 4 Recorders version of this work

Display all products featuring this work (2 more)  

Work Overview

As dawn breaks, the light begins to sing.

The work is an exploration of light movement, reflecting that which occurs within a forest. A saturation of light is mapped and composed into music.

As though standing on a forest floor and looking up toward the canopy, light flows and fades in waves which are distorted by the motions of each micro-interaction between the unique layers of the forest. Here, an overall impression of the macro movements of light is mapped between the four instrumentalists to give a saturation of the sensory impression of light movements. We are transported into a conversation between our physical position on the earth and the more expansive state of the mind when allowing the senses to be completely saturated in such an environment. Here, we move beyond the tangible human form and into dialogue between form and space.

Work Details

Year: 2016

Instrumentation: Clarinets: 3 clarinets in B flat, 1 bass clarinet in B flat.

Duration: 8 min.

Difficulty: Advanced — Rhythmic

The composer notes the following styles, genres, influences, etc associated with this work:
Minimalist, Modal, Ars Subtilior


Performances of this work

14 Jun 19: Brightness (Vivid Sydney), St Stephens Uniting Church, Macquarie St, Sydney. Featuring Judgement of Paris Quartet.

3 Apr 19: Recital Hall East - Sydney Conservatorium of Music

User reviews

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions and insights about this work.

To post a comment please login.