Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.


Speak : vocal ensemble

by Kirsten Milenko (2019)



Add to cart


Speak / Kirsten Milenko.

Library shelf no. 783.19554/MIL 1 [Available for loan]

Work Overview

In emptiness we speak.

For those whose words are lost.

'Speak' was composed for the DR Vokal-Ensemblet. The premise behind the work is to create a space within which to be heard. Phonetic illusions blur and open the sense of space as sounds swell and fade as though beneath the surface of water. The sentence as written above is the text for this work and appears as fragments, forming coherency only briefly.

The piece can be performed for 18 vocal soloists as originally written, or for a larger ensemble divided into 18 parts.

Work Details

Year: 2019

Instrumentation: Solo voices (SSSSSAAAATTTTBBBBB), (piano for rehearsal purposes only).

Duration: 8 min.

Difficulty: Advanced

Dedication note: Dedicated to DR VokalEnsemblet

Commission note: Commissioned by DR VokalEnsemblet for Pulsar Festival 2019

First performance: by DR VokalEnsemblet at Pulsar - DR VokalEnsemblet (The Royal Danish Academy of Music) on 8 Mar 2019

Performances of this work

8 Mar 2019: at Pulsar - DR VokalEnsemblet (The Royal Danish Academy of Music). Featuring DR VokalEnsemblet.

User reviews

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions and insights about this work.

To post a comment please login.