Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.


Symphony no. 2 : full orchestra

by David Sydney Morgan (1951)

Symphony no. 2


Add to cart


Symphony no. 2 : in D major / David S. Morgan.

Library shelf no. 784.2184/MOR 3 [Available for loan]

Work Details

Year: 1951

Instrumentation: 2 flutes (2nd doubling piccolo), 2 oboes, clarinet in A (doubling clarinet in B flat), bass clarinet, 2 bassoons, 4 horns in F, 2 trumpets in C, 2 trombones, bass trombone, timpani, strings. (The toccata also has parts for harp, bass drum and tubular bells).

Duration: 25 min.

Difficulty: Advanced

Contents note: 1. Chorale prelude -- 2. Scherzo and trio -- 3. Quasi-ground and soliloquy -- 4a. Toccata (1st finale) -- 4b. Declamation, fugue and coda (2nd finale).

Composed 1949-1951, revised in 1959 and 2004.

First performance by Sydney Symphony Orchestra, with E. Llewellyn, for studio broadcast in the 1960s.


User reviews

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions and insights about this work.

To post a comment please login.