Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.


Musings (solo piano)

by Miloslav Penicka (1996)



Add to cart


Musings / Miloslav Penicka.

Library shelf no. 786.2/PEN 5 [Available for loan]

Work Overview

From time to time, often during work on a longer piece, one needs a little rest or nap. So after a few years I discovered these orphaned pieces and mused about their fate. Their meditative and generally unhurried character and lack of urgency swept them into a basket of this name. Nothing to do with Greek Muses, but here and now, not thinking of anything, spending a few idle moments. This makes them difficult for interpreters, so I was pleased when one lady addressed me after the premiere: "But you write beautiful music!" rather more a question than a statement!

Work Details

Year: 1996

Instrumentation: Piano.

Duration: 9 min.

Difficulty: Medium — AMEB Grade 4-5.

Contents note:  I. Caloroso -- II. Dolce -- III. Adagio -- IV. Semplice -- V. Sostenuto -- VI. Cantabile.

Dedication note: Dedicated to Ross Hamilton

First performance: by Ross Hamilton — 5 Sep 99. Barton Hall, Hopetoun Village, Castle Hill, NSW

Performances of this work

5 Sep 99: Barton Hall, Hopetoun Village, Castle Hill, NSW. Featuring Ross Hamilton.

User reviews

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions and insights about this work.

To post a comment please login.