Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.


Sonata : for saxophone, cello and percussion : Study IV

by Simon Reade (1999)

Also known as: Study IV

Work Overview

This work, composed in 1999, was an experimental composition which utilised a number of ideas I had been working though at the time - especially concerning aleatoric techniques.

The work is composed for any saxophone in the keys of E flat or B flat. The work is constructed as a palindrome and so the harmonies created in the opening section are reversed in the closing section, thereby creating a sense of logic around the options presented to the saxophonist.

The central, cadenza like, section uses noise style sounds interspersed with the melodic fragments to give a sense of stillness, divorced from any sense of functional harmonic movement.

This work was revised (mostly in terms of the percussion part) in 2019 for saxophonist, Thomas McKay and I am indebted to my colleague Simon Barber for typesetting this early work.

Work Details

Year: 1999

Instrumentation: Saxophone (Eb or Bb), cello, percussion.

Duration: 5 min.

Difficulty: Advanced

First performance: by Derek Grice, Greg Woodward, Ben Smart — Jun 99. Tasmanian Conservatorium of Music


Sonata: for saxophone, cello and percussion


Performances of this work

Jun 99: Tasmanian Conservatorium of Music. Featuring Derek Grice, Greg Woodward, Ben Smart.

User reviews

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions and insights about this work.

To post a comment please login.