Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.


Breaking Waves : for guitar and string quartet

by Haydn Reeder (2018)

Selected products featuring this work — Display all products (1 more)

Display all products featuring this work (1 more)  

Work Overview

This piece is in two movements, marked Lento and Vivo and lasts for over seven minutes. The simple common attribute between the motion of the ocean and music is wave formation. This is featured especially in the first movement, where the initial idea of consonant intervals calmly ascending and descending which is later assigned to accompanying a full-throated melody on the guitar and is intermittently interrupted by outbursts by the whole ensemble. These outbursts always return the music to the initial calmness. However, the calm idea takes on some characteristics of the outbursts and by the end of the piece has changed its identity somewhat.

The second movement is short and also involves some wave formation, interruptions and a traditionally placed cadenza for the soloist is heard, during which a melodic motive is recalled.

Work Details

Year: 2018

Instrumentation: Guitar, 2 violins, viola, cello.

Duration: 8 min.

Difficulty: Advanced — Many easy sections in first movement. (There is a first longer movement and a second finale-type movement.)

Contents note: I. Lento -- II. Vivo.

User reviews

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions and insights about this work.

To post a comment please login.