Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.


Icarus : symphonic poem in three movements

by Nicholas Routley (1996)



Add to cart


Icarus : for orchestra / by Nicholas Routley.

Library shelf no. 784.2/ROU 1 [Available for loan]


Hire Only

This item is available from our hire library.
Please contact our Hire Department to enquire about pricing and obtain this item.

Work Overview

This piece deals with the story of Icarus, the son of Dedalus. Dedalus was the designer of the labyrinth at Knossos on Crete, and also designed wings so that his son could fly. But the wings were fixed to Icarus's body with wax, so Dedalus warned him not to fly too close to the sun. But, like most sons, he stretched the boundaries a bit, and the wax melted, and Icarus fell to earth.

The story is a parable of the human condition on many levels.

Work Details

Year: 1996

Instrumentation: 2 flutes, 2 oboes, 2 clarinets in B flat (2nd doubling bass clarinet), 2 bassoons, 4 horns, 3 trumpets in B flat, 3 trombones (3rd doubling tuba), timpani, percussion (1 player), harp, strings.

Duration: 20 min.

Difficulty: Advanced

Contents note: Conception -- Play -- Death

Dedication note: Dedicated to my son Alexis

First performance: by Sydney University Symphony Orchestra, Anna Pimakhova — Jun 97.

Performances of this work

Jun 97: featuring Sydney University Symphony Orchestra, Anna Pimakhova.

User reviews

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions and insights about this work.

To post a comment please login.