Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.


Piano sketches (solo piano)

by Jacqui Rutten (2014)

Piano sketches


Add to cart


Piano sketches / Jacqui Rutten.

Library shelf no. 786.2/RUT 6 [Available for loan]

Work Overview

This is a series of little piano sketches based on the book Counterpoint by J.F. Bridge. The music hopefully gives a sense of the sacredness of Westminster Abbey where J.F. Bridge was organist and master of the choristers. He was also Professor of Harmony and Counterpoint of the Royal College of Music, so you may hear a glimpse of royalty, because I also found out on my recent trip to Ireland that the Queen is from the Butler faily and one of my great great grandparents was part of the Butler family, from around Kilkeeny and Tipperary. J.F. Bridge was also examiner in music for Oxford. Cambridge and other universities. The pieces also have a sense of folk tune, and were written mostly at home in Belgrave, the Dandenong Ranges, with pen and paper, and then revised with the piano.

Work Details

Year: 2014

Instrumentation: Piano.

Duration: 10 min.

Difficulty: Medium

Contents note: 14 sketches (no. 9 titled "A night in Clunes").

Dedication note: Dedicated to the memory of J.F. Bridge.

User reviews

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions and insights about this work.

To post a comment please login.