Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.


Speak : for flute/piccolo, clarinet, violin, cello and piano

by Harry Sdraulig (2018)

Work Overview

The original two-movement version of this piece, Speak, was commissioned for and premiered by Ensemble Q in November 2018. An additional movement, placed between the existing movements as a new second movement, was commissioned and workshopped by the Australia Ensemble as part of the 2019-20 Layton Emerging Composer Fellowship. The work is scored for flute (doubling piccolo), clarinet, violin, cello and piano.

Speak is cast in three distinct movements. Conceptually, each movement describes a different domain of language and communication. The first, entitled Dialogue, considers the nature of external exchanges between beings, encompassing multiple threads of conversation and intricate interactions. The second, entitled Recollection, explores the transient and often revisionary nature of recalled thoughts and conversations, with subtle variations within fixated repetitions. The third, entitled Inner Speak, is also introspective in character, but reflects patterns of a more holistic internal monologue through interweaving lines and subtle changes in feeling.

Work Details

Year: 2018

Instrumentation: Flute/piccolo, clarinet, violin, cello and piano

Duration: 15 min.

Difficulty: Advanced

Contents note: I. Dialogue --II. Recollection -- III. Inner Speak.

Commission note: Commissioned by Ensemble Q and the Australia Ensemble



Performances of this work

22 Sep 2021: at Syzygy Ensemble: Warp and Weft (Live streaming event (online only)). Featuring Syzygy Ensemble.

4 Nov 18: Queensland Conservatorium of Music. Featuring Ensemble Q.

User reviews

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions and insights about this work.

To post a comment please login.