Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.


Mouvement Mélancolique; arr. : full orchestra

by David Stanhope (2019)

Mouvement Mélancolique


Add to cart


Mouvement Mélancolique : orchestration / Leopold Godowsky ; arranged David Stanhope.

Library shelf no. 784.2/STA 19 [Available for loan]

Mouvement Mélancolique

Hire Only

This item is available from our hire library.
Please contact our Hire Department to enquire about pricing and obtain this item.

Work Overview

Mouvement Mélancolique is my orchestration of the last movement of Godowsky's Sonata in E Minor for piano solo (1910-1911). The extreme difficulty of the quicker movements and overall length of the sonata (an hour or more to perform) have led to the sonata's neglect. The final movement - slow, long and divided into movements within itself - contains much that is beautiful and powerful.

Work Details

Year: 2019

Instrumentation: Piccolo, 2 flutes, 2 oboes, cor anglais, 2 clarinets in A, bass clarinet in Bb, 2 bassoons, contrabassoon, 4 horns in F, 3 trumpets in C, 2 trombones, bass trombone/tuba, timpani, percussion (2 players), harp, strings.

Duration: 16 min.

Difficulty: Advanced — High professional orchestra standard

User reviews

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions and insights about this work.

To post a comment please login.