Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.


Box set : violin solo

by Hollis Taylor (1997)

Box set


Add to cart


Box set / Hollis Taylor.

Library shelf no. 787.2/TAY 2 [Available for loan]

Work Overview

Box Set is a re-take of the J. S. Bach Partita #1 for Solo Violin in B minor. It was composed while in residency at Altos de Chavon in the Dominican Republic during the summer of 1997. "In Box" masquerades as a slow blues. "Recycled Box" draws solely from Bach's original notes, though some are omitted. "Music Box" resembles a jazz waltz. "Original Box" delivers all of Bach's notes but new rhythms bring a metamorphosis. "Gift Box" is another take at a jazz waltz, this one with off-beat accents determined to throw it out of kilter. "Devil's Box" explores bebop harmonies and strategies, such as altered dominant chords, tritone substitutions, whole tone patterns, and musical quotations. "Puzzle Box" moves between four bar (generally) sections of Bach's original "Tempo di Bourree" and four bars of material usually handled by other instruments, such as montunos (the repeated, syncopated vamp played by the piano in Latin jazz), salsa bass lines, and merengue horn lines. "Out Box" relies on a funky bass line for its theme.

Work Details

Year: 1997

Instrumentation: Violin.

Duration: 21 min.

Difficulty: Advanced

Contents note: 1. In box -- 2. Recycled box -- 3. Music box -- 4. Original box -- 5. Gift box -- 6. Devil's box -- 7. Puzzle box -- 8. Out box.

First performance: by Hollis Taylor — 1997. Lewis & Clark College, Portland, Oregon, USA

The composer notes the following styles, genres, influences, etc associated with this work:
J. S. Bach Partita #1 for Solo Violin in B minor

Performances of this work

1997: Lewis & Clark College, Portland, Oregon, USA. Featuring Hollis Taylor.

User reviews

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions and insights about this work.

To post a comment please login.