Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.


Rinascita : for mezzo-soprano, trombone, percussion, violin and violoncello

by Katia Tiutiunnik (2002)

Work Overview

Rinascita (Italian for rebirth), for mezzo soprano, trombone, percussion, violin and violoncello, is the third and last piece belonging to Between Two Rivers: A Trilogy. It was requested by my US colleague James Michael Bicigoand is dedicated to the memory of my late teacher, Franco Donatoni. The symbolic dimension of Rinascita stands apart from those of Canto di Enheduanna, and Lament of the flutes for Dumuzi, in that, rather than being centred on particular figures (ie Dumuzi, Enheduanna and Inanna/Ishtar) and their associated religious symbolism/mythology, it is concerned with the idea of rebirth (rinascita) in the abstract sense.

Work Details

Year: 2002

Instrumentation: Mezzo-soprano, trombone, percussion, violin, cello.

Duration: 12 min.

Difficulty: Advanced

Dedication note: Dedicated to Franco Donatoni. Dedicated to the memory of my late teacher, Franco Donatoni

Written for: James Bicigo

The composer notes the following subjects, styles, influences etc associated with this work:
Arab music, Italian music, Franco Donatoni, near Eastern music.

The text is composed of three fragments of Italian translations of Mesopotamian sacred texts.

User reviews

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions and insights about this work.

To post a comment please login.