Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.


Dancing with Diaghilev : for alto saxophone and string quartet

by Jessica Wells (2019)

Selected products featuring this work — Display all products (2 more)

Display all products featuring this work (2 more)  

Work Overview

A series of three dance movements which take their inspiration from the ballet music of Ravel and Prokofiev.

Work Details

Year: 2019

Instrumentation: Alto saxophone, 2 violins, viola, cello.

Duration: 9 min.

Difficulty: Advanced — High altissimo range for Alto Sax player

Contents note: I. Les Amours de Pan et Syrinx (The loves of Pan and Syrinx)  -- II. L'enjoleuse (The siren) -- III. Le dieu ennemi et la danse des esprits noirs (The Enemy God and the Dance of the Spirits of Darkness).

Commission note: Commissioned by Amy Dickson.

First performance: by Amy Dickson, Australian String Quartet at AFCM: New Connections (Townsville Civic Theatre) on 31 Jul 2019

The composer notes the following styles, genres, influences, etc associated with this work:
Ballet music for the Ballet Russes 1909-1929 Ravel - Daphnis et Chloe Prokofiev - The Prodigal Son Prokofiev - Scythian Suite

Performances of this work

31 Jul 2019: at AFCM: New Connections (Townsville Civic Theatre). Featuring Amy Dickson, Australian String Quartet.

User reviews

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions and insights about this work.

To post a comment please login.