Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.


Zodiac Animalia : for orchestra

by Jessica Wells (2017)

Selected products featuring this work — Display all products (1 more)

Display all products featuring this work (1 more)  

Work Overview

The Chinese animal zodiac is a repeating cycle of 12 years, with each year being represented by an animal and its reputed attributes. Traditionally these zodiac animals were used to date the years.

In order, the 12 animals are:

Rat, Ox, Tiger, Rabbit, Dragon, Snake, Horse, Goat (Sheep), Monkey, Rooster, Dog, Pig.

In this set of twelve approximately one-minute episodes, I have attempted to capture the personality of each animal, or perhaps the anthropomorphism that humans project onto each animal!

Work Details

Year: 2017

Instrumentation: Piccolo, 2 flutes, cor anglais, 2 oboes, 2 clarinets, bass clarinet, 3 bassoons, (3rd doubling contrabassoon), 4 horns, 3 trumpets, 2 trombones, bass trombone, tuba, timpani, percussion (2 players), harp, strings.

Duration: 15 min.

Difficulty: Advanced — TSO have performed this but also community orchestras have played it

Contents note: I. Rat -- II. Ox -- III. Tiger -- IV. Rabbit -- V. Dragon -- VI. Snake -- VII. Horse -- VIII. Sheep -- IX. Monkey -- X. Rooster -- XI. Dog -- XII. Pig.

First performance: by National Capital Orchestra — 7 Apr 18. Llewellyn Hall, Australian National University, Canberra

The composer notes the following styles, genres, influences, etc associated with this work:
Many influences from orchestral composers, ballet music, Noir film scores and modern contemporary classical music.

Performances of this work

7 Apr 18: Llewellyn Hall, Australian National University, Canberra. Featuring National Capital Orchestra.

User reviews

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions and insights about this work.

To post a comment please login.