Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.


Moving pictures : a suite of film music

by Nigel Westlake (2004)

Moving pictures


Add to cart


Moving pictures : a suite of film music, for symphony orchestra / Nigel Westlake

Library shelf no. 784.2185/WES 3 [Available for loan]

Work Overview

From blockbusters to obscure art-house, Moving Pictures is a suite in eleven movements assembled from film scores I have composed.

This suite embraces a wide range of genres including comedy, drama, documentary, mockumentary and Imax.

Work Details

Year: 2004

Instrumentation: Piccolo, 2 flutes, 3 oboes, 2 clarinets, bass clarinet, 2 bassoons, contra-bassoon, timpani, percussion (5 players), harp, guitar, celesta, piano, strings.

Duration: 28 min.

Difficulty: Advanced

Contents note: 1. The Raiders (from "Babe, Pig in the City") -- 2. The Nugget (from "The Nugget") -- 3. The Evil Empire (from "Children of the Revolution") -- 4. Lament (from "Children of the Revolution") -- 5. Hells Bells (from "A little bit of Soul") -- 6. A Noble Heart (Saint-Saens arranged Westlake ; from "Babe, Pig in the City") -- 7. Penguin Ballet (from "Antarctica") -- 8. Scott's Theme (from "Antarctica") -- 9. The Sheep pig (from "Babe") -- 10. The Age of Reason (from "Solarmax") -- 11. The Hogget Polka (from "Babe - Pig in the City").

Commission note: Composed under the auspices of the Australian National University as part of the H.C. Coombs creative arts fellowship 2004.


User reviews

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions and insights about this work.

To post a comment please login.