Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.


Letters to Clara : suite for chamber septet

by Natalie Williams (2018)

Work Overview

Letters to Clara is a suite for chamber ensemble, commissioned by The Australia Ensemble for performance in their 2018 concert season at the University of New South Wales. The piece was commissioned as an homage to Clara Schumann, in celebration of her life and influence as a prominent woman composer and performer. The suite comprises four movements, each a reflection on Clara's life: as performer, composer, wife, and mother. The piece uses quotations from works by Clara and Robert Schumann and Johannes Brahms.

Work Details

Year: 2018

Instrumentation: Flute, clarinet, piano, 2 violins, viola, cello.

Duration: 13 min.

Difficulty: Advanced

Contents note: 1. Piano Queen, the love of music -- 2. Whispered Breath, the love of Robert -- 3. Frei aber Einsam, the love of Brahms -- 4. Regenlied, death and eternity.

Dedication note: Dedicated to Professor Claude Baker

Commission note: Commissioned by Australia Ensemble.

First performance: by Australia Ensemble at Australia Ensemble: Robert and Clara (Sir John Clancy Auditorium) on 12 May 2018


Performances of this work

12 May 2018: at Australia Ensemble: Robert and Clara (Sir John Clancy Auditorium). Featuring Australia Ensemble.

User reviews

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions and insights about this work.

To post a comment please login.