Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.


Underground (quartet) : percussion quartet

by David Young (2007)

No products are available for this work

The Australian Music Centre's catalogue does not include any recordings or sheet music of this work. This entry is for information purposes only.

Materials for this work may be lodged in our collection in the future. Until then, any enquiries should be made directly to the composer/sound artist or their agent.

Work Overview

Underground is a musical performance unlike any other. Four percussionists perform with sculptural miniature percussionist instruments on tables. Audiences of eight are seated at the tables, close enough to reach out and touch the performance. This strangely familiar setting invites the audience to listen to subtle and intricate sounds in a completely different way.

Underground combines the intimacy of a small concert with the beauty and intrigue of Rosemary Joy's hand-crafted miniature percussion instrument sculptures and music by composer David Young.

Work Details

Year: 2007

Instrumentation: 4 Percussionists

Duration: 25 min.

Commission note: Commissioned by Aphids (Musical group).

First performance: by Claire Edwardes, Marcel Andriessen, Fedor Teunisse, Diego Espinosa — 15 Jun 07. Underground at Filmhuis Den Haag, Netherlands

For miniature percussion instruments, constructed by Rosemary Joy.

Created as part of an Aphids' residency at a disused clay mine in western Victoria.

Performances of this work

15 Jun 07: Underground at Filmhuis Den Haag, Netherlands. Featuring Claire Edwardes, Marcel Andriessen, Fedor Teunisse, Diego Espinosa.

May 07: featuring Matthias Schack-Arnott, Eugene Ughetti.

User reviews

Be the first to share your thoughts, opinions and insights about this work.

To post a comment please login.