Enter your username and password

Forgotten your username or password?

Your Shopping Cart

There are no items in your shopping cart.

7 February 2012

New members of the Australia Council music board

Gabriella Smart Image: Gabriella Smart  

Pianist and festival director Gabriella Smart (SA), and singer-songwriter and guitarist Deborah Conway (VIC) have been appointed members of the Music Board of the Australia Council for the Arts.

Gabriella Smart has performed widely throughout Australia and overseas, including numerous premieres of works by contemporary composers. She founded the Soundstream Contemporary Music Ensemble in 1996 and is the artistic director of the Soundstream Adelaide New Music Festival. As a curator she has been involved in the 2007, 2008 and 2009 OzAsia Festivals (presented by the Adelaide Festival Centre) and the 2008 Adelaide International Festival.

Deborah Conway is a celebrated songwriter with a career spanning three decades and nine albums since her solo album in 1991. She continues to be a role model for young women and a mentor to emerging artists. She was the artistic director of the Queensland Music Festival in 2009 and 2011, and is part of the Victorian Music Council.

Further links

Australia Council for the Arts - the music board members
Gabriella Smart - homepage
Deborah Conway - homepage

Subjects discussed by this article:

The Australian Music Centre connects people around the world to Australian composers and sound artists. By facilitating the performance, awareness and appreciation of music by these creative artists, it aims to increase their profile and the sustainability of their art form. Established in 1974, the AMC is now the leading provider of information, resources, materials and products relating to Australian new music.


Be the first to share add your thoughts and opinions in response to this article.

You must login to post a comment.